.

Postal Officials Begin 'Comprehensive Review' of Springfield Operations

"Springfield residents can expect to get delivery Monday through Saturday on a regular basis," a USPS spokesperson said.

Two United States Postal Service officials have been dispatched to Springfield to undertake a "comprehensive review" of operations in light of recent complaints by residents who say their mail delivery has become unreliable, according to a USPS spokesperson.

"We acknowledge delivery was curtailed in Springfield after the recent snow storm due to safety concerns," USPS spokesperson George B. Flood wrote in an email to Patch Tuesday afternoon. "However, Springfield residents can expect to get delivery Monday through Saturday on a regular basis. Accordingly, two USPS Northern New Jersey District officials were dispatched to Springfield and have begun a comprehensive review."

Following a snowstorm that hit the township on Jan. 2 and 3, some Springfield Township residents expressed their concern that their mail was arriving later each day and, in other cases, was not being delivered at all. 

Flood said the goal of officials who are reviewing the Springfield post office is "to ensure every effort is being made to provide our customers in Springfield with the level of service they expect and certainly deserve."

Additionally, Flood asked any Springfield customers who experience a problem with their mail services to contact the local USPS Northern New Jersey District Consumer and Industry Contact Office at 732-819-3260.

"Our nationwide network of Consumer and Industry Contact offices have specially trained professionals on staff to assist customers in solving local service problems," Flood said.
Laura Petersen January 14, 2014 at 04:19 PM
I have had so many problems with our local Springfield Post Office that I hate to say I go to another town to mail my USPS packages, purchase stamps, etc. I'm constantly getting mail belonging to someone else with a similar address, had problems with vacation holds and had mail (including one gift card) that never made it to the recipient. A mistake now and then is fine but this has been constant in our 12 years in Springfield.
Keepinganeyeout. January 14, 2014 at 04:38 PM
Hooray! Guess it pays to voice complaints on the Patch. Good job and let's hope the USPS "officials" being dispatched to review the local operations come up with something concrete in the way of corrective actions. Gone are the days when I knew my postman (woman) by name and got a smile and hello. They now have IPods or IPhones glued in their ears as they make their rounds. Very professional.
Bob Groder January 14, 2014 at 05:28 PM
on monday I got my mail around 8 pm and on tuesday January 14 nothing yet. some weeks i only get it 4 times a week. even newman from seinfeld worked more hours and he was a ficticious tv character. The feds need to look at this operation and take it over if it cane be done by the locals!
dudley nightshade January 15, 2014 at 08:38 PM
the problems are not because of the office management in town.i got the story from someone who knows.this all started because the higher ups wanted to cut staff.the "comprehensive review"is a joke.these are the people who caused the problems in the first place.why else would mail be getting delivered at 7:30 or 8:00 at night.we never had these problems before.
Stan B January 16, 2014 at 05:30 PM
On days when there isn't a carrier for each route, a carrier may have to delivery another route. I can understand not getting mail until very late on those days. But this PO is sick. The postmaster is a ghost. The phone isn't answered. My mail and our neighbors' mail is misdelivered too often and that mail includes checks and credit cards. Yesterday, there must have been a substitute who had no idea how to delivery on our route. Mail was delivered to the side of our house where there isn't even a mailbox or slot. Meanwhile, the outgoing mail in our mail slot was left behind. This is why I pay all my bills automatically or as a one-time every month on line. I no longer trust the postal service to handle my mail.
Glen H January 19, 2014 at 07:52 AM
I have had two mail carriers that did the same route for over ten years each at the least. The mail was delivered every day right around 3:00 pm (for over 20 yrs). The last five years I have seen numerous carriers every year. The mail has delivered anywhere from 9:am to 7:00 pm and ocassionally nothing. This is not a life tragedy, but surely the post office needs to correct there current way of delivery service ,while the stamp price increases seen to be delivered on time
Holly B January 19, 2014 at 12:02 PM
I am probably the only one who wishes mail delivery would not be on Saturdays because I go away some weekends and worry about my mail sitting in the box all weekend. On that note, my People magazines are always going missing... makes me wonder.... hmmmmmm..... LOL!
Holly B January 19, 2014 at 12:07 PM
To Stan B: I don't pay most of my bills online, but some of them, I trust the Post Office more than the hackers lurking out there on the computers waiting for one slip up... Though I have gone thru many PO delivery people as well, most of the time they get it right. There are 4 apts. in our big house, sometimes I get others mail, sometimes my PEOPLE MAGAZINE is missing (LOL!) but most of the time our Mail Lady gets it right, is pleasant, and trustworthy. One time some stupid company accidently left their letter to me open (containing my SS#, DOB etc) and the mail service of Springfield caught it, put it in an envelop, and delivered to me saying it was flying around in the mail with no envelop.. I was waiting for the other shoe to drop, never did. So THANK YOU SPRINGFIELD POST OFFICE... now will you please deliver my People Magazine every week? :)
ralph cox January 19, 2014 at 04:25 PM
Hello this is long overdue as I have gotten mail for 64 Tooker Avenue frequently in the past 6 months ralph c
Sara January 21, 2014 at 11:14 AM
How about going to the Post Office itself, Agony!
Bob Groder January 23, 2014 at 07:45 AM
I know we have more snow but I now haven't had mail for 3 days and the other day I got someone elses full pile of mail including important tax information. ive been in springfield for over 50 years and ive never seen this service become almost non esistant. 4 days a week mail delivery has happened way too many times recently on my street.
Resident January 23, 2014 at 06:55 PM
We have not had mail since last Saturday...this is ridiculous....And now postage is going up! Really? For what service?
Herbert Winterbottom III January 26, 2014 at 07:42 PM
I have intimate knowledge of the postal problems in town. First, let me address Mr. Shehady. I will begin by thanking him for his service to his country. I think it rather a shame that he chose to leave such a noble calling in the armed forces to pursue a profession (politics) that ranks below that of a used car salesman and only slightly above prostituition. That being said, Mr. Shehady knows nothing about what the problems are with the mail service. The problems have been caused by Postal Management at the national and regional level. They send in teams to conduct so-called "route inspections". These inspections are contrivances that are used to eliminate full time letter carrier positions unjustly. That is exactly what happened in mid-November. A route was eliminated and almost every route in town was changed and made longer. There used to be 20 and 1/2 routes in town. Now there are 15 and 1/2. The excuse is reduced mail volume. That may be true to some extent but the Postal Service has increased its parcel volume tremendously. That is extra work for the carriers and has to add to their delivery time. Also, the amount of deliveries has increased in town with all of the new developments. So, the local post office is making more deliveries with less people. There has to be a point where the Postal Service cuts too much. One only need do a cursory check of the internet to see numerous stories of the same problems going on in other towns, cities and states. In fact, a letter carrier was killed in Maryland several weeks ago delivering mail at night. Others have been assaulted. So this problem is not isolated to Springfield. What does that indicate? The problem is not being caused at the local level. Relax, Springfield residents, the problems will be corrected. As for Mr. Shehady and Mr. Fernandez, I would like to see the same urgency brought to high property taxes and other problems that you brought to mail delivery. I appreciate what my letter carrier does and all the others. They do it in all kinds of weather.
Herbert Winterbottom III January 26, 2014 at 08:21 PM
Holly B. Your People magazine is most likely being taken by one of your neighbors in your 4 apt. house. Makes you wonder.....hmmmmm. LOL!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »