Search Results
Police Department
100 Mountain Ave, Springfield, NJ 07081

Springfield's Police Department was formally organized in the 1920s and currently has 43 sworn police officers and aMore number of civilian dispatchers and administrative personnel. Two special police officers maintain traffic duties and school posts.

The main divisions of the police department are administrative, patrol and investigation. Smaller units within those divisions include traffic, crime prevention, bike patrol, general investigative narcotics and juvenile.

The police department responds to approximately 11,000 calls for service per year. On Thursday, June 24, Captain Carl Riley of the Union County Prosecutor's Office became acting  officer in charge of the department following the resignation of Captain Peter Davis. 

The crime stoppers hotline is 973-912-CARE  (2273) and the email address is police@springfield-nj.us.

Office of Emergency Management
200 Mountain Ave, Springfield, NJ 07081
Springfield's office of emergency management is headed by two town appointees, Coordinator John Cottage and DeputyMore Coordinator Scott Seidel. The office is one of 21 municipal emergency management departments in Union County, and like the other offices, reports up to a county emergency management coordinator and the emergency management section of the New Jersey state police.

The township's emergency management unit is made up of Springfield’s auxiliary police as well as additional volunteers, including licensed amateur radio operators and people who focus on shelter, planning and operations, radiological threats, and social services.

The township's emergency management council is composed of key municipal department heads, elected officials and civic leaders. It is responsible for developing and implementing the township's emergency operating plan.